Insurance Survey & Health Assessment | 360° Well-being by Cigna HK

Cigna 360° Well-being Survey

Hongkongers are among the five most stressed populations in the world

At Cigna, we believe well-being is a goal we can all aspire to and attain. That is why we conducted our 360° Well-being Survey, tracking the perceptions of health and well-being of individuals by looking at five key areas - physical, family, social, financial and work health. Now in its fourth year, the report is Cigna’s most global survey yet, covering 23 countries and territories.

The latest survey findings

The 2018 results of the survey show that Hong Kong’s overall Well-being Index has fallen for the fourth consecutive year to its lowest since the annual survey began in 2015. The index dropped from 58.6 in 2017 to 56.8 in 2018. Hong Kong people are also being ranked among the five most stressed populations in the world.

The stress of life takes its toll

The Survey unveils that nearly everyone is stressed in Hong Kong (92%), particularly Millennials (95%). Factors such as work (39%) and finance (27%) are the primary causes of stress. Although 75% of respondents think their stress level is manageable, 17% of respondents say they cannot manage; and Millennials (aged 18-34) report a higher level of unmanageable stress, at 26%.

Few seek professional help for stress

However, the survey finds that seeking professional help for stress management is still uncommon in Hong Kong. Only 10% of stressed respondents say they have spoken to a medical professional about their stress. More than a third (36%) think they can handle stress on their own. Cost is the greatest barrier to seeking professional help (45%), while one in five Millennials are uncomfortable about opening up or discussing the matter with a stranger.

Inadequate employers’ support for managing stress

Hong Kong is also one of the markets where employers’ support for managing stress is minimal. Some 60% of respondents receive no support from their employers. For the remaining 40% receiving support, only 13% believe it is adequate. When it comes to health support from employers, the majority of Hong Kong people seek tangible benefits like dental and cancer coverage, rather than professional stress management assistance.

For more detailed results of 2018 Cigna 360° Well-Being Survey, please click here.

The Cigna 360° Well-being Survey explores people’s perceptions on health and well-being across five areas – physical, family, social, financial and work health. Watch this video and find out more.

SMART HEALTH

Live your way to a healthier you with our smart health tips.

Learn More

香港健康測試及保險評估 - 信諾360°健康測試 |【信諾環球保險 CIGNA】

信諾「360°健康指數」調查

香港人在壓力方面於全球排行首五名

信諾相信健康是所有人都嚮往及希望實現的目標。因此我們進行信諾「360°健康指數」調查,探討大眾對「個人健康」、「家庭」、「社交」、「經濟」及「工作」等五大健康指標的認知及關注。踏入第四年,本年度的信諾「360°健康指數」調查覆蓋23個國家及地區,是該調查展開以來最國際化的一年。

最新的調查結果

2018年的調查結果顯示,香港的整體健康指標連續四年下跌,相關指標更跌至自2015年展開調查以來的新低 - 由2017年的58.6跌至2018年的56.8。在壓力方面,香港人更於全球排行首五名。

生活壓力對健康構成影響 

調查顯示,幾乎每名香港人都感到有壓力(92%),尤其是千禧世代(95%)。受訪者表示工作(39%)及經濟(27%)為壓力主要來源。雖然75%受訪者認為壓力處於可管理水平,但仍有17%受訪者表示未能管理壓力,尤其是年齡介乎18至34歲的千禧世代 (26%)。

因壓力問題向專業人士尋求協助只佔少數

調查亦發現,因壓力問題而尋求專業人士協助在香港仍不普遍。在感到壓力的受訪者之中,僅10%表示曾經向醫療專業人員傾訴壓力,超過三分之一(36%)認為自己能夠處理壓力。當中開支是尋求醫療專業人員協助的最大障礙(45%),而五分之一的千禧世代受訪者表示,向陌生人敞開心扉或討論壓力會感到不安。

僱主處理壓力提供的支援不足

然而,香港僱主為處理壓力提供最少支援的市場之一。約60%的受訪僱員表示於相關範疇沒有得到僱主的支援,而表示得到僱主支援的40%受訪者中,僅13%認為支援足夠。在僱主提供的醫療支援上,香港人寧願尋求較實質的福利,如牙醫和癌症保障,並非期待得到專業的壓力管理援助。

更多2018信諾「360°健康指數」的調查結果,請按此。

信諾「360°健康指數」調查探討大眾對「個人健康」、「家庭」、「社交」、「經濟」及「工作」等五大健康指標的認知及關注。收看此短片了解更多。

SMART HEALTH

透過我們的健康資訊,讓您活得更健康。

了解更多